top of page
  • Writer's pictureafieldy2684

Ranking All the Star Wars Movies

With the final season of Clone Wars premiering this past weekend, I think it's only appropriate to rank all the Star Wars films.


As I have stated in other reviews and posts, I am a Star Wars fan. I’ve been one ever since I can remember. That is why doing this is so special to me. I have love for a lot of these movies and shows, so that’s why I wanted to do this. I’m going to rank these films on a combination of enjoyment and a critical scale. To me, Star Wars is about forgetting what is going on in the world around you and just sitting back and enjoying an adventure in space. So without further ado, let's rank some movies.


#1: Episode V Empire Strikes Back

Over the holidays my brother and I wanted to watch a movie, we decided on Star Wars, but the question is, which one? Unanimously it was Empire Strikes, because you can’t go wrong with this movie, you just can’t. It’s so well paced with something always going on and more importantly, you're invested with what's going on do the way the characters are written.


It’s also the most quotable movie in the franchise that just so happens to have one of the most misquoted lines in movie history. If you know, you know. The battle on Hoth really shows the destructive nature of the Empire, along with realizing the fact that the good guys don't always win all the time.


Luke on Dagobah with Yoda adds to the lore of the force and the Jedi, as it really does a good job to explain what certain things are and the rules of it. Some of these specific things are broken and tossed aside in future films, but for right now, let's just pretend they’re not.


The saber fight between Luke and Vader is iconic, and will always be remembered for the twist that had millions of people shocked.


Also, John Williams does great work in all of these movies so let me get this out of the way and say he’s a legend for a reason.


This is the best movie in the saga hands down, and it isn't even close.


#2: Episode VI Return of the Jedi

As a kid, I always found myself watching this movie, so the nostalgia plays a big factor here. Yes, the pacing drags, and yes the Ewoks are a little childish, but I don’t care. This movie brings out the kid in me. Also, fully introducing the Emperor and the relationship between Luke and Vader is some of the best parts of this movie.


Previously, I mentioned how the saber fight between Luke and Vader in Empire is iconic, if that’s iconic, than this saber fight is legendary in my opinion. With John Williams’ score building as a wide shot of Luke and Vader duel across the window of the Death Star goosebumps build every time. It never gets old. Also, the trench run through the Death Star with Lando and Nien Nunb is paired perfectly with the battle on Endor and has another iconic line, take it away Admiral Ackbar:


gif

This movie wraps up everything well as it ends the trilogy on the right note.



#3: Episode IV A New Hope

The one that started it all. This film still holds up and was a generational feat in film making. The introduction to all the characters gives you a peak at what this trilogy was going to be.


The trench run in the first Death Star is so well done. Also, Alec Guinness as Obi-Wan (Ben) Kenobi is perfectly cast.


If I were to knock anything on this one it would be the writing is a little cheesy and the saber fight between Ben and Vader is a little weak. Regardless, it’s a great film, and without it, we wouldn’t be talking about this right now.


#4: Episode VII The Force Awakens

This film made me love Star Wars again. I watched the official trailer probably 50 times, at least. I didn’t know I needed more Star Wars until I saw this film. The new characters: Rey, Kylo Ren, and Finn are all well written. Harrison Ford really does buy back into his role as Han, and it works out perfectly.


Sure it was a lot like A New Hope, and yes some of the dialogue was a bit choppy and quick, but that’s Star Wars. This movie is quintessential Star Wars. This film wouldn’t have worked if the new characters weren’t good, and I'm sure that I'm not the first person to say this, but I love all three of them.


#5: Rogue One

I wasn't expecting too much from this movie. The marketing campaign was pretty weak in my opinion, but what I was hoping for a gritty war movie. After all, Star Wars should have some battles and wars in it, otherwise, what’s the point right? I was surprised to say this movie delivered in multiple ways. Yes, the war stuff was great and really fun to watch, but the story was well paced and concise and was effectively able to be told in a proper manner.


Darth Vader has one particular scene in this movie that was fan service, but it was the best kind of fan service as it will go down as one of my top five favorite moments in Star Wars.


Also, this film perfectly plays right into A New Hope. What I mean by that is the last 30 minutes is the events directly preceding Episode Four, and I loved that.


The ending to the main characters feels right, but it’s harder to care for them since there’s barely anything you learn about them other than Jyn. That is to be expected when you have a spinoff movie with a big man cast.


#6: Episode IX The Rise of Skywalker

This movie is still fresh in my mind, and no my opinion hasn’t changed too much. I still enjoy this film more than Last Jedi but I do think Last Jedi is a better film, so I’m up in the air about it. If there’s anything us as fans learned from this movie it’s to have a plan when you make multiple movies, that way things won’t seem rushed or shoe-horned in at the final hour.


Granted, I do love a lot of things about this movie. Rey and Kylo’s connection is great. The gang being together felt right, the uses of the force was something I’m glad they expanded on, and Babu Frik is an absolute legend.


The final shot of this film is brilliant. It connects all three trilogies together and as George Lucas said, “It’s like poetry, they rhyme.”


#7: Episode VIII The Last Jedi

The “controversial” one. I really like this movie, contrary to a majority of public opinion. I do acknowledge that it has very high highs, and some pretty low lows. Rian Johnson is a good director, and films like Knives Out, Looper, or episodes of Breaking Bad are the perfect indication why. There’s some great shots that are set up really well. The actors all do the best job, but the dialogue is too cartoony at points with jokes form Hux and Poe.


A lot of people complained after The Force Awakens for Lucasfilm to make a different, more bolder Star Wars movie that took risks. If you’re asking me, that’s what they got. This film doesn’t hold back and certainly does have some jaw dropping moments. Rey and Kylo are great again as their connections and force abilities continue to grow. The throne room scene with them and Snoke is my favorite scene in the film.


I do actually like what they mostly did with Luke even though most people didn’t. Unfortunately, "Mary Poppins" Leia, Admiral Holdo not trusting anyone, most of the comedy, ALL of Canto Bight, and Rise Tico were big low points for me. I know it’s easy to trash on Rose’s character and I do feel really bad for Kelly Marie Tran because she seems like such a nice person. I truly believe that she did the best she could with the material she was given, so in no way is this a shot at her being a bad actor or something. I just feel the writing for Rose was poor, and it’s kind of ironic too because Rian Johnson said at Star Wars celebration in 2017 that he was most excited for people to meet Rose. It’s unfortunate and sad, but I don’t think it ruins the movie.


I still enjoy this one, problems and controversy aside.


#8: Episode III Revenge of the Sith

This is the best of the prequels, and it’s not even close. Like Return of the Jedi, I also watched the prequels a lot as a kid, and now that I’m an adult I really do appreciate the tone of the film.


Sure, some of the acting is over the top, but I do like these characters, and when the time comes for Obi-Wan and Anakin to duel, I’m all in for it. Showing the fall of the Jedi through Order 66 is also pretty iconic as well as you see the Empire come to power as Palpatine’s plan finally comes to fruition.


Like most of the prequels, the pacing is a little slow in this one. The political stuff I find interesting at times, but in other scenes I see it as a waste of time.


Overall, good not great film, clearly the best of the prequels, and it also has the best choreographed saber fights.


#9: Solo

Very similar to my expectations of Rogue One, I was not expecting much here. The spinoff films have a tough job, as they only have one film to derive material. Let’s get one thing straight though, Alden Ehrenreich is not Han Solo. If you watch this comparing him to Harrsion Ford you’re not going to have fun with this one. If you put those notions aside you can actually enjoy this film.


Everyone does a good job, and it’s a fun ride. I didn’t really feel the stakes of the characters and the turn at the end is very predictable, but this movie is enjoyable, to an extent. Also the villains in this film were pretty weak and having Darth Maul come in at the end seemed too forced. Yes, pun intended.


#10: Episode II Attack of the Clones

I’ll confess, I actually kind of enjoyed this movie as a kid. You can see a theme here, right? Yes it’s a pacing mess and the plot is all over the place, also remember way back when I talked about rules of some characters? Well, Yoda flipping around and commanding Clones is not the Yoda I know and love. #notmyyoda.


The battle scene in the pit in Geonosis is cool at parts, but then it becomes distracting with all of the CGI added in. Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan is my favorite part of this film. His scenes tracking down Jango Fett are by far the bright spot. Also, he does a really good job of trying to imitate the aura and persona of Alec Guinness’ portrayal of Obi-Wan in the original trilogy, and for that I appreciate his work even more.


#11: Episode I The Phantom Menace

This is the one Star Wars movie I don’t really care for. To tell you the truth whenever this film is on, I always skip ahead to the Duel of the Fates with Darth Maul, Obi-Wan, and Qui-Gon Jinn.


Other than the final fight, which is pretty great, this film is just boring to me, even podracing bores me because it goes on for too long. The majority of the acting is stale, the story is very convoluted, and you don’t care about our main protagonists. Plus, I really don’t think this film made an impact on all in the trilogy, so you can honestly skip the whole movie and watch the fight scene and be done with it.


Phew! Well, that felt therapeutic. So there’s my list but don’t forget, everyone has different opinions. You may agree with some of the things I say, you may disagree with others. That’s the beauty of fandom, we can all theorize and develop our own opinions to create a positive discourse. I’ll be sure to add to this list down the road when more films come out. Thanks for reading and remember, "May the force be with you, always."



102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page